top of page

7 Myth Busters - the Dental Edition


Author: VM Wong (RDH) & Dr. Tina Lam (DDS)

中文版請按連結

(1) “Brushing in a horizontal motion keeps my teeth sparkling clean.” Brushing horizontally does keep your teeth clean! But it also brushes your gum away and causes gum recession, sensitivity, damage to the teeth! For proper ways to brush your teeth, talk to your healthcare professionals as different individuals may benefit from different techniques

(2) “Sensitivity toothpaste doesn’t work as I have been using it for months and I feel the same.” If a dentist has already confirmed the diagnosis of sensitive teeth, try brushing twice daily with sensitive toothpaste and a soft toothbrush. Spit AND DO NOT RINSE - the material does need time to block the tiny tooth tubules that are causing sensitivity. Use it consistently for at least 3 weeks to see improvement. Switch brand if it doesn’t work as a different ingredient may work better for you. Attempt to reduce sour food consumption as it dissolves the materials that just blocked the tubules. (3) “I lost my molars because I was pregnant and the baby pulled calcium from my teeth.”

Most of your teeth (except for your wisdom teeth) are fully formed by the time you turn 15. Your body may summon calcium from your other bones but not from your teeth. (4) "I brush my teeth multiple times a day so there is no need for flossing.”

if you don't floss your teeth, you'll miss 40% of your teeth surfaces!

(5) “If I brush/ floss, it will bleed so I stop doing that.”

You actually should brush/ floss that area more! Bacteria sits at the neck of the tooth, which usually is right up against the gum. The bacteria causes gum inflammation (gingivitis) and blood comes out when you floss or brush. If you keep removing the bacteria, the bleeding may continue for around a week but it will stop once it is healthy again. (6) ”I know coke is not good for my teeth so I always brush my teeth right after drinking it!”

It is good to take dental hygiene seriously, but brushing right after consumption of sour fluids/ food will result in damage to tooth structure, causing sensitivity, discoloration, loss of tooth structure etc. A better way is to rinse your mouth right after or chew sugar-free gum for 30 minutes right after. (7) “I use mouthrinse, hence I do not need to floss.”

Layers of bacteria will mostly stay on your teeth after just a rinse, rubbing them off by brushing and flossing is much more important in preventing cavities and gum disease. Did you miss the Oral Health Seminar organized by AIME? You can get more information here

Legal Disclaimer These presentations are intended for general information purposes only. Audience are recommended to consult with qualified dental healthcare provider and obtain professional advice and subsequent management for your particular conditions. The views and opinions expressed by the speakers do not necessarily reflect the policy or position of Assisting in Medical Expectations.

Tags:

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Catogories
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page